Tags

, , , , , ,

Screen Shot 2013-12-20 at 08.27.17

It would seem that the universe is conspiring to send me a very clear message. A very clear reminder to get back to basics. To relinquish the habbit i’ve gotten into of spending to much time with technology. To enjoy what can be created with my two hands and the ever dwindling daylight hours.

Amongst other things, i thought it would be a really good idea to pour a cup of coffee onto and into my laptop. No amount of rice and radiators will fix this problem and thus my blogging has pretty much ceased to exist. My computer is well and truly broked. I’ve been dealing with this pretty well (i haven’t yet cried) but gosh do i miss exploring and learning from all you amazing cooks out there. Still, i’ve been persevering with many a homemade christmas gift and a knitting project that has me for the long haul.

In many ways i am thankful- a traditionalist at heart, it seems fitting that it is this time of year i am being reminded to enjoy the simple(r) things this crazy and wonderful life has to offer. Bracing cold walks, foraging for decorations, real flame fires, blankets and of course, good food.

My offering for this festive week is a simple, back to basics recipe that every gluten free vegan should have under their wing come christmas time. In fact, every cook should have- a reliable, shortcrust pastry recipe. Less cholesterol, less work for your digestive system, versatile for both sweet and savoury dishes. We’ve made a cracking quiche with this, a wonderful pie and oh my am i excited to bring on the mince pies.

I adapted this from The Intolerant Gourmet but changed the flour. I have a real problem with shop bought gluten free mixes- not that theres inherently anything wrong with them, its just that all my previous experiences have led to pastry that resembles the texture of plastic. If they work for you, by all means go with them but i found a mix of buckwheat, chickpea and oat produced the most pleasing crumb.

So yes, i’m taking a step back from this modern life for a few weeks. Listening to the wind and watching the light, planning my days accordingly. Getting back to basics in order to fully and truly appreciate the majesty of the world be live in. A world fully of beauty, nature and love. To end this i would just like to say that i am so incredibly grateful for you all- my loved ones, friends and followers. Your support (both with this blog and in life) have kept me going. I wish you all the most beautiful of christmasses- i hope they are full of joy, laughter, thanks and love.

Merry Christmas you wonderful people xx

(makes 1 block of dough, Vegan, Gluten Free)

  • 90g Buckwheat Flour + extra for shaping
  • 90g Chickpea Flour
  • 50g Oat Flour
  • 60g Sunflower Spread
  • 60g Vegetable Shortening
  • 1/2 tsp Xanthan Gum
  • 1-2 tbsp Ice Water
  • either 1/2 tsp Sea Salt or 2 tbsp Coconut Sugar
  1. Combine all the flours, salt, gum and seasoning in a large bowl
  2. Use a knife (or your hands like me- but its real messy) to cut the shortening and spread into the dry ingredients until you reach a breadcrumb like consistency
  3. Add enough water until the dough comes together
  4. Tip onto a floured surface and knead for 2 minutes
  5. Wrap in clingfilm and pop in the fridge until your ready to use (taking it out 20 minutes before use)
