Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Scan-140201-0001

Happiness.

That golden veil that permeates intention, action and thought. The driving force that compels us through life. Inconstant, variable, relative. The quest in each persons story that remains a constant goal. The most treasured of prizes.

Happiness.

An emotion, but deeper than that- an overall state.

It is said that, being a state of mind, happiness is something that we control. Our perceptions are our reality. Thus if one wants to be happy, one need only take control and allow happiness to flourish.

And yet sometimes, no matter how hard we try, our emotions can, and do in fact, take control of us. Other emotions, emotions that we may not wish to feel, they can grow so heavy as to cause us to falter under their unbearable weight.

photo 5

The battle between human consciousness and animal impulses. We are both sentient and feral, both intelligent and wild.

We acquire involuntary, subconscious, psychological responses as we grow. These automatic processes generally operate without our knowledge. That is, until they interfere with the rational, cognitive elements of our minds.

This is when we truly feel the full force of our emotions. This is where i was yesterday.

How do i face this? I accept the feelings for what they are. I give them room to roam about in my mind. I take a long walk and listen to Bach. Always Bach when i need something to drown out the sound of the traffic. I walk and think until the thoughts and feelings run their natural course. Then i listen to whats left inside me- a drop of positivity, and i let this fill me.

I think of all the things i am grateful for, all the things i am proud of myself for, i find all the silver linings. Then i do something, anything, that will make me happy. Yesterday it was buying some fruit, and as i was walking home i felt that spark. That tiny, shimmering light of hope. I got home, made a beautiful smoothie and drank. As i drank i started laughing. Laughing at myself, at my sadness and the incredible way food can alter my mental state and i got to thinking.

photo 3

Thinking of what it was in the smoothie that helped to ease my mind. I starting researching. A lot. I found all the incredible minerals and vitamins that produce happiness- be it straight up serotonin and dopamine or things like magnesium, B vitamins and selenium- which contribute to an all round strengthening of the nervous system and health of the brain.

So it was that i came up with the next smoothie in our sessions, because for all it was I that brought on this change in mood, a little good food can always help. And if it makes any of you laugh with happiness in the way it did for me- then that’s no bad thing is it?

photo 2

So tell me- what do you do to bring about a sense of happiness? Got any activities or recipes that make you laugh it out? As always, please feel free to share. Much love, and heres to laughing at the silliness xx

photo 4

(Makes roughly 1 litre)

  • 2-4 cups of Water (depending on desired consistency)
  • 1 tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 5 Walnuts
  • 3 handfuls of Spinach
  • 1/4 cup soaked/ sprouted grains (i used a mix of sprouted quinoa and buckwheat)
  • 2 tbsp raw Cacao Powder
  • 1 Banana
  • 1/2 tbsp Maca Powder
  1. Add the water to the blender, then the remaining ingredients, blitz for a few minutes until smooth
