Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

DSC_0243

Long time no speaky eh?

I’ve been as busy as my winged namesake crafting all sorts of traditional, magical good stuff. But enough about that, we’re all here for the foods right?!

I will say that i’ve been struggling to write this return to the food blogosphere for months now. Battling between the yearning for simplicity and my inherent need for flamboyant tastes and ingredients. I’ve had a lot of great real- life feedback about my recipes and the conclusions of these have been part of my struggle. I started this blog to show that insanely delicious, vegan food is super easy to achieve. However i got lost in the fabulous but seemingly overcomplicated world of the emerging nouveau green food trends. Whilst i rolled with these i dug it all- every unpronounceable, near impossible to find ingredient fuelled my flames for learning and broadened my scope for cooking. But all good rides come to an end and once i’d taken a step back it occurred to me that a lot of my more recent recipes were largely unaccessible. Making tasty food shouldn’t culminate in a nye on impossible search for the holy grail of super- foods. I started this journey as a means to get closer to a more natural, peaceful way of living and eating. So here i go trying to simplify my cooking and further recipes.

However, i will say that there are some ingredients i’ve come across that are way too cool, healthy and vital for me to renege on, those that act as the key to unlocking the next level of plant based awesomeness. Hey, its all about compromise right?!

Anyway, diatribe over and well done! if you’ve carried on reading thus far- bless your wee socks. So i’m gonna introduce one of my secret snack weapons. The Bliss Ball. Little globes of flavoursome, wholesome goodness.

DSC_0235

I never thought of myself as a snacker but recently there’ve been so many times when i’ve been too busy/ enjoying my day so much that i’m loathe to step out my rhythm to make a wee healthy something to keep me going. This is where the magical Bliss Balls come in- they’re basically a canvas of dried fruits, seeds/ nuts that you flavour to hearts desire. They take at most ten minutes to knock up and involve getting really messy paws- which i personally think makes food so much more enjoyable. Full of protein, carbs, beautiful fats and a world of vitamins and minerals.

Hella good for keeping you going through your busy days, a quick powerful breakfast or my favourite- the perfect post supper pudding. I’ve flavoured mine two ways- a zesty coconut one for when you want to zing your tastebuds and body awake and a oozy salty chocolate one for when you need that chocolate hit. Saying that, its totally up to you and cupboards for how to tweak them. The skies the limit and these little guys will help you on your way.

DSC_0244

(I get about 12 balls each out of the mixes but you choose a size you prefer.
Raw, Vegan and Gluten Free)

The “Salty Dog” batch:

  • 1/2 cup Sunflower Seeds
  • 1/4 cup chopped Dates
  •  1/4 cup Sultanas
  • 1 tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 1 tbsp Tahini
  • 2 heaped tbsp Cacao Powder
  • a good pinch of Sea Salt

The “Gimme Some Funk” batch:

  • 1/2 cup Sunflower Seeds
  • 1/4 cup chopped Dates
  • 1/4 cup Sultanas
  • 1 tbsp Coconut Oil
  • scant 1/4 cup Desiccated Coconut
  • zest of 1 Lemon
  1. Blend up everything in each batch until the mixture starts to clump together. Adding more dried fruit if the mix isn’t sticky enough- you can check by pressing it to the side of the blender to see if it holds.
  2. Form into desired number of balls, roll the first batch in more cacao powder and the second in more coconut.
  3. They keep in the fridge for a good few days or in the freezer for ages.

DSC_0232