Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_5440-0

You know its funny, I forget that I live (pretty much entirely) in my own wee world. I know the walls, the sky, the grass of my universe, they’re so familiar that I get a little shock sometimes, when I’m reminded of the other. That world, you know, the world of shoulds and musts and this and that. These things, the things we’re told to believe, how we’re told to perform, what to expect, how to be, well… they don’t factor on my patch…

We’re all unique- we all have our own ways of thinking, our preferences, we each bring something new to this table of life, so why, for one second, could we ever expect anyone else’s way of doing things/ mode of life, to fit ours? It just doesn’t add up. Our lives are our own, therefore, we make the rules. We set the tone, the pace, we add the colour and the harmony. This knowledge has brought me great peace of mind of late. Everything is new, malleable, ready and waiting for us to create it. There is no pressure when you realise that you are only accountable to yourself. So long as you’re kind and respectful, its up to you to choreograph your dance. This is freedom, freedom to be you, just as you are- beautiful and all powerful.

IMG_5444

So lets do it. These throw away the rules books of yore, lets graffiti rainbow coloured messages on the walls of our lives, lets make and create and mess up and learn just how we want to.

With this in mind, lets eat Pilaf. Fragrant, chewy, delicious Pilaf, that’s totally not traditional but it comes damn close. It doesn’t take an hour to make and its super easy. Because tonight, I’m making dinner work for me. And tomorrow, I’ll take on the day in my own way, in my own time, just like I like it….

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

(Serves 1, with potential leftover goodness)

 

  • ½ cup Brown Rice (soaked for a minimum of 2 hours)
  • 1 tbsp Coconut Oil
  • Zesty flesh of ¼ Lemon
  • 1 thumb Cinnamon Bark
  • 6 Cardamom Pods, bashed
  • Sea Salt (to taste)
  • 2 cloves Garlic
  • 3 Spring Onions, sliced or ½ sm Red Onion
  • 1/8 cup Peas
  • 1/8 cup Sweetcorn

 

    1. Rinse rice and add to a small pan, cover with 1 inch fresh water and bring to the boil
    2. Simmer for 15 minutes before turning off the heat and covering wit a tea towel
    3. Empty the rice into a bowl and add the oil to the same pan
    4. Add the onion and garlic and cook for 4 minutes
    5. Add the cardamom, lemon and cinnamon and cook for a further 2 minutes until the oil is infused with the lovely aromas
    6. Add the rice and salt and cook for roughly 5 minutes until the rice just starts to stick
    7. Stir in the peas and sweetcorn, cover and leave for 5 minutes (remove the cinnamon, lemon and cardamom before serving (if you like)).

 

You’re then free to add/ transform your pilaf into a anything your hearts desire. Try stirring in some tasty proteins, e.g. turmeric tofu, spiced beans, steamed veg, etc, etc…